fbpx

Retailer hits the NOS early on NFS Unbound reveal

With the news buzzing that EA has been working on a new Need for Speed game, some can’t wait to see what’s under the hood. Is it going to be anything like Underground (plz, Lord…)? Will it go back to the era of good NFS games or are those to be considered a total loss? According to EA, we shall soon – as in this afternoon – find out. But what if we could take a sneak peek at the rumored NFS Unbound now? Well, thanks to a Japanese retailer, we can.

Now, to be fair, it’s not like it’s going to tell us a lot about gameplay. But it is telling us quite a lot about the art style which reportedly would be a mixture of photo-realism and anime elements. Thanks to a product page on the website of Japanese retailer Neowing, those reports can now be sent to the realm of confirmed rumors.

I gotta say, I’m not one hundred percent sure what to think of the cel shaded graphics. Then again, people have been ripping on Return to Monkey Island for its art style pre-launch. And look at the major success of that game post-launch. Yeah, don’t we feel stupid now? This proves that we can’t judge a game on its art style, not before we’ve actually played it.

Plus, Criterion Games ain’t no newbie when it comes to making NFS games. They were responsible for Most Wanted, which tells us that they know how to make a decent racing game. So maybe, just maybe, we should give them the benefit of the doubt with NFS Unbound.

So, if you’re still interested after seeing the screenshots, make sure to tune in at 8am PT / 11am ET / 4pm BST, when EA will officially pull the covers off of its new Need for Speed game. Or if you feel like waiting, I’ll even drop the live feed down below.